The Icicle Works

The Best Of The Icicle Works

Beggars Banquet

Released August 1992


This product is not available in the US store, but you can buy it from our EU store.

This product is not available in the EU store, but you can buy it from our US store.

Named after the 1960 short story "The Day the Icicle Works Closed" by science fiction author Frederik Pohl, The Icicle Works joined Liverpool's early 1980s 'neo-psychedelia' wave, which also propelled Echo & the Bunnymen and The Teardrop Explodes to stardom. They are best known in the UK for their only top 20 UK hit "Love Is a Wonderful Colour" (1983). In the US and Canada, they also had only one top 40 hit, the 1984 single "Whisper to a Scream (Birds Fly)".

Led by singer/songwriter Ian McNabb, the band released five albums from 1984 to 1990 before breaking up in 1991. McNabb later convened a revised line-up of the band in 2006 to play live shows; this revised Icicle Works line-up still plays sporadic live dates.

1. Hollow Horse (Long Version)
2. Love Is A Wonderful Colour
3. Birds Fly (Whisper To A Scream)
4. Understanding Jane ('92 Version)
5. Shit Creek
6. High Time (Acoustic)
7. Who Do You Want For Your Love ?
8. Evangeline
9. Little Girl Lost
10. When It All Comes Down ('92 Version)
11. Starry Blue Eyed Wonder
12. Out Of Season
13. The Kiss Off
14. Up Here In The North Of England
15. Firepower
16. Blind