1979-1983 Volume Two

Beggars Banquet

Released November 15, 1985


This product is not available in the US store, but you can buy it from our EU store.

This product is not available in the EU store.

Understandably complementing the first volume, 1979-1983: Vol. 1 is as similarly bereft of any sort of packaging notes as its predecessor, but is also as successful at pulling together many of Bauhaus' best moments from its later career into one knock-your-socks-off release. More Mask numbers crop up here -- two funk-heavy groovers ("In Fear of Fear" and "Kick in the Eye"), counterpointed by the slow, haunting "Hollow Hills." The Sky's Gone Out is cherry-picked for some of its best moments, including "Swing the Heartache" and "All We Ever Wanted Was Everything," though the version of "Spirit" is the less effective single re-recording rather than the dramatic album take. Rather tellingly, only three songs from Burning From the Inside are included -- "She's in Parties," the David J-sung "Who Killed Mr. Moonlight?," and the Daniel Ash number "Slice of Life." Added to all of this are the peerless covers of "Ziggy Stardust" and "Third Uncle," a couple of ringers from earlier in the band's career ("Satori" and "Crowds"), stand-alone singles "Lagartija Nick" and "The Sanity Assassin," and one honest-to-goodness rarity, "Paranoia Paranoia," a radical dub reworking of "Silent Hedges" that's just as good as the original in its own unique way. In all, a great overview of the latter years of a great band, at least in its original career. - All Music Guide
1. Double Dare
2. In the Flat Field
3. Dark Entries
4. Stigmata Martyr
5. Bela Lugosi's Dead
6. Telegram Sam
7. St. Vitus Dance
8. The Spy in the Cab
9. Terror Couple Kill Colonel
10. The Passion Of Lovers
11. Mask
12. Kick in the Eye
13. Hollow Hills
14. In Fear of Fear
15. Ziggy Stardust
16. Silent Hedges
17. Lagartija Nick
18. Third Uncle
19. Spirit
20. All We Ever Wanted
21. She's in Parties
22. The Sanity Assassin
23. Crowds