the arkive

  • Biffy Clyro - The Vertigo Of Bliss (Expanded Edition/B-sides)
  • A1. Bodies In Flight
    A2. The Ideal Height
    A3. With Aplomb
    A4. A Day Of...
    B1. Liberate The Illiterate/A Mong Among Mingers
    B2. Diary Of Always
    B3. Questions And Answers
    B4. Eradicate The Doubt
    B5. When The Faction's Fractioned
    C1. Toys, Toys, Toys, Choke, Toys, Toys, Toys
    C2. All The Way Down; Prologue Chapter 1
    C3. A Man Of His Appalling Posture
    C4. Now The Action Is On Fire!
    C5. Ewen's True Mental You
    D1. ...And With The Scissorkick Is Victorious
    D2. Do You Remember What You Came For?
    D3. Good Practice Makes Permanent
    D4. Let's Get Smiling
    D5. Muckquaikerjawbreaker
    D6. I Hope You're Done

Biffy Clyro

The Vertigo Of Bliss (Expanded Edition/B-sides)

Beggars Banquet
Released 11 June 2012

Biffy Clyro’s second album The Vertigo Of Bliss was recorded in one day and released in 2003. Ensconced in Great Linford Manor studio with Chris Sheldon they ripped through a set of fifteen songs and spent the rest of the week on Playstation. The result is a rich, diverse album of angular post-hardcore / alt-rock. Call it what you want. Taking it’s title from a phrase in contemporary novel ‘I Lucifer’, The Vertigo Of Bliss is an inspired rush of emotion, contemplation and twisting melodies. About it, the band's singer Simon Neil said "We wanted to fuck with people. We wanted to make music that would make people feel uncomfortable; that was obtuse. We felt that anyone who penetrated the noise and the strange arrangements would truly understand our band, and I think that’s maybe why a lot of people that connected with us connected so strongly."

This LP is an expanded edition, and in addition to the original 13 album tracks, contains a number of B-sides from the album's singles.