Social Dancing


Released August 10, 1999


This product is not available in the US store, but you can buy it from our EU store.

This product is not available in the EU store.

1999’s “Social Dancing” saw Manda Rin, Sci-Fi Steven and John Disco, having been ostracized by the UK music press, return with a bigger, shinier and cohesive sound. Produced by Gang Of Four’s Andy Gill and mixed by Pet Shop Boys engineer Bob Kraushaar, the blend of 1979 New-Wave riffs and 80’s Electro-Pop synths shine on hit single “Eurodisco”, the sped-up Gary Numan of “I’m A Slut” and album opener “Making People Normal”. An expanded sonic palette saw a liberal use of samples, a diversion into trip-hop (“Detour”) and even a real string section on “Theme From Tokyo”. While “Social Dancing” didn’t have the impact of debut album “The New Transitor Heroes”, it’s most fans favorite - a solid body of songs which has a confident band at the top of their game.
1. Making People Normal
2. I'm A Slut
3. Eurodisco
4. Action And Drama
5. Theme From Tokyo
6. The Hit Girl
7. Am I Loud Enough?
8. Shopaholic
9. Young Alien Types
10. Detour
11. Sale Or Return
12. It's All New
13. Listen Up