the arkive

  •  - Friends
A1. Away
A2. Modern Man
A3. Someone’s Daughter
A4. Sunday Morning
A5. Looking for a Life to Lose
B1. Romeo In Clover (Call Girls)
B2. Books on the Bonfire
B3. Pardon Me
B4. Fat And Jealous
B5. Waspy

The Bolshoi


Beggars Banquet
Released 12 July 2024

The Bolshoi were different. Their songs were dark and subversive, sufficient evidence for many critics to corral them under the ‘Gothic’ banner at the time of their debut album Friends - but they really only “flirted” with Goth. They oozed dark, pensive lyrics supported with inventive pop-goth guitar making them nearly impossible to categorize.

We are excited to reissue their 1986 full-length debut album Friends (or Fiends). Out of print for at least 30 years, this pressing is on white vinyl. Upon release, Friends reached the top of the Alternative charts, and the album’s first single “Away” hit #1 on the CMJ charts. There were a ton of amazing reviews for the album that featured critics trying desperately to categorize their music.

The suburban surrealism of the lyrics was rooted in the stories of characters on the fringes of society rather than brooding romantics, with an undercurrent of boredom, inadequacy, and violence. Not the usual themes for pop success!

Based in London, the band consisted of Trevor Tanner (lead vocals, guitar), Nick Chown (bass), Jan Kalicki (drums), and Paul Clark (keyboards). With powerful live shows The Bolshoi built a substantial following before disbanding in 1988.