the arkive

  •  - Sweet F.A. - Reissue
A1. Sweet F.A.
A2. Judgement Day
A3. Use Me
A4. Fever
A5. Sweet Lover Hangover
B1. Pearl
B2. Shelf Life
B3. Sad & Beautiful World
B4. Natacha
C1. Words of a Fool
C2. Clean
C3. Here Come the Comedown
C4. Spiked
C5. Sweet F.A. (Reprise)
D1. My Dark Twin * previously unheard song outside of box set
D2. Butterfly * previously unheard song outside of box set 
D3. Venus Child * previously unheard song outside of box set 
D4. Pick Yourself Up * previously unheard song outside of box set

Love and Rockets

Sweet F.A. - Reissue

Beggars Banquet
Released 9 June 2023

Forming in 1985 after the first split of their band Bauhaus, LOVE AND ROCKETS is the seminal, groundbreaking trio of Daniel Ash, David J and Kevin Haskins. Love and Rockets provided a clean slate and an opportunity to plumb the depths of imagination and influences.

Having signed to Rick Rubin’s American Recordings label, the band was guided by the legendary producer in a return to more guitar-based songs for 1996's Sweet F.A. The album cover features a striking photo of a burnt guitar which was retrieved from the debris after a fire broke out at Rubin’s mansion, where the band were living while working on songs for the album. They lost all of their gear, some of their demo recordings, and nearly their lives as well. The resulting album was inspired by some of their earliest influences – The Velvet Underground, The Stooges, The Doors, Can. It spins tales of passion and loss, carried on a fluid, moody throb. Undulating, hypnotic rhythms twine around melancholy lyrics which examine life at a primal level, as ethereal electronic effects play counterpoint to earthquake reverberating guitars. The track “Sweet Lover Hangover” was an alternative radio hit.

David J: “Sweet F.A was our coming of age album. A rite of passage and the Phoenix rising from both the literal and figurative flames”

-This is a double black LP with a gatefold sleeve
-Expanded with four extra tracks