the arkive

  • Stereolab - Peng!
  • A1. Super Falling Star
    A2. Orgiastic
    A3. Peng ! 33
    A4. K-Stars
    A5. Perversion
    A6. You Little Shits
    B1. The Seeming And The Meaning
    B2. Mellotron
    B3. Enivrez-Vous
    B4. Stomach Worm
    B5. Surrealchemist



Too Pure
Released 26 May 1992

Peng! is the band’s 1992 debut album.

Often noted as being one of the most influential and original bands of the 90s Stereolab were formed by Tim Gane and Laetitia Sadier in London in 1990 and released 13 studio albums, 15 eps and numerous singles. Simon Reynolds commented in Rolling Stone that the group’s early records form “an endlessly seductive body of work that sounds always the same, always different.”

Theirs is a rich, overflowing palette, readily able to blur the gulf between Os Mutantes and the BBC Radiophonic Orchestra; merge Krzysztof Komeda with the Velvet Underground, Francoise Hardy with Neu! and Burt Bacharach with Esquivel. A deluxe blend, in other words, with ingredients plucked assiduously from pop’s coolest outposts: 50’s lounge, Rive Gauche chanson, Brazilian tropicalia, North American art rock, East European film music, Krautrock. hi-fi test recordings, mood music and more. 

Somehow they distill these apparently incongruent components into an ageless exotica that is all their own.