the arkive

  •  - Love 2023 Reissue
A1. Nirvana
A2. Big Neon Glitter
A3. Love
A4. Brother Wolf;Sister Moon
A5. Rain

B1. Phoenix
B2. Hollow Man
B3. Revolution
B4. She Sells Sanctuary
B5. Black Angel

The Cult

Love 2023 Reissue

Beggars Banquet
Released 24 February 2023

The Cult is fronted by Ian Astbury on vocals and Billy Duffy on guitar. Their music and albums at this point need no introduction as they have cemented themselves over the years since they began in 1983, as one of the greatest rock bands around.

Love was the Cult’s second album, originally released in 1985. It was their breakthrough and produced many singles including “Rain”, “Revolution” and the epic anthem “She Sells Sanctuary”.
The album eventually defined their career, but at the time, it flew in the face of everything that was going on in music. Their previous album, the moody and psychedelic Dreamtime gathered plenty of critical praise, but they made a decision to take a complete left turn for the follow-up.

In their Story of the Alternative 80s, Metal Hammer summed the album’s lore up well… “Proof that instinct and conviction are far more powerful and worthwhile artistic tools than cynicism or puritanical tyranny, Love continues to resonate because it dared to be a balls-out British rock album at a time when such values were routinely viewed with suspicion. Above all, Love is an album of great and ageless songs played by one of the greatest bands of this or any age.”

Two years later in 1987, The Cult released their third album Electric, followed by a string of hit albums. The band have continued to release amazing music with their latest release, 2022’s Under The Midnight Sun – their 11th album.