the arkive

  • Peter Murphy - Holy Smoke - SMOKY VINYL
A1. Keep Me From Harm
A2. Kill The Hate
A3. You're So Close
A4. The Sweetest Drop
B1. Low Room
B2. Let Me Love You
B3. Our Secret Garden
B4. Dream Gone By
B5. Hit Song

Peter Murphy

Holy Smoke - SMOKY VINYL

Beggars Banquet
Released 7 May 2021

HOLY SMOKE (1992) - Smoke vinyl (clear and black smoke blend)
The fourth Peter Murphy album Holy Smoke contained the single “The Sweetest Drop” which made it onto the modern rock charts. It was an elegant follow up to Deep with crisp production by Mike Thorne. As written in the original press release for the album, “You can’t pin down HOLY SMOKE, it curls and eddies in white and blue swirls, drawing a series of patterns on the brain, but just when an image begins to come into focus, the music mutates into something hypnotically new”.

Peter Murphy’s solo career began in 1986 with the release of Should The World Fail To Fall Apart and continues to this day. In addition to his work as the frontman of the legendary and groundbreaking Bauhaus, he has released ten solo albums, in addition to several live releases. Over the last few years, he staged several multi-night residencies where he performed a different album each night. He also recently reunited with his Bauhaus bandmates for shows.