the arkive

  •  - The Cult - Reissue
A1. Gone
A2. Coming Down (Drug Tongue)
A3. Real Grrrl
B1. Black Sun
B2. Naturally High
B3. Joy
C1. Star
C2. Sacred Life
C3. Be Free
D1. Universal You
D2. Emperor's New Horse
D3. Saints are Down

The Cult

The Cult - Reissue

Beggars Banquet
Released 12 May 2023

We are excited to release a vinyl reissue of THE CULT’s self-titled sixth album. Two editions are available; Creamy vinyl is exclusive to independent retail and black vinyl will be available everywhere. Both are available here via our webstore.

THE CULT is fronted by Ian Astbury on vocals and Billy Duffy on guitar. Their music and albums at this point need no introduction as they have cemented themselves over the years since they began in 1983, as one of the greatest rock bands around.

1994 brought their self-titled sixth album The Cult, sometimes also known as the “Black Sheep” album due to the cover image. Recorded with Sonic Temple producer Bob Rock, It is a very personal album with a lot of the narrative subject matter referring to Astbury’s younger years. Unlike their previous albums, this one revealed itself more slowly with each listen. This album is considered an overlooked and underrated gem and preceded their 1995 break-up.

In 1999 the band reformed and released their seventh album 1999 brought a reformation of the band and the release of their seventh album Beyond Good And Evil in 2001 prior to another hiatus in 2002. They came together again in 2007 for Born Into This, and have continued to release amazing music, most recently with 2022’s Under The Midnight Sun – their 11th album.