the arkive

  •  - Sonic Temple - Reissue
A1. Sun King
A2. Fire Woman
A3. American Horse
A4. Edie (Ciao Baby)
B1. Sweet Soul Sister
B2. Soul Asylum
B3. New York City
B4. Automatic Blues

C1. Soldier Blue
C2. Wake Up Time For Freedom
C3. Medicine Train (From the Edie (Ciao Baby) single)
C4. The River (From the Sweet Soul Sister single)
D1. Bleeding Heart Graffiti (from the Edie (Ciao Baby) CD EP)
D2. Messin' Up The Blues (from the Fire Woman single) D3 Fire Woman (NYC Rock Mix) (from the Fire Woman CD EP)
D4. Edie (Ciao Baby) (Acoustic) (From The Heart Of Soul CD single)

The Cult

Sonic Temple - Reissue

Beggars Banquet
Released 11 August 2023

Beggars Arkive will release a vinyl reissue of The Cult's fourth album Sonic Temple on August 11th. This edition is pressed on translucent green and is exclusive to independent retail and the Beggars Arkive website.

Released in 1989, Sonic Temple's sound is rooted in classic rock and heavy metal, but incorporates a range of influences, from punk to psychedelic rock, creating a sound that is both familiar yet unique. The album’s production is slick and polished, thanks to the contributions of legendary producer Bob Rock, who helped to craft a sound that was both commercially appealing and artistically adventurous.

Sonic Temple had four massive hits; “Fire Woman”, “Edie (Ciao Baby)”, “Sun King” and “Sweet Soul Sister”.

The album catapulted The Cult into superstar status and remains their most commercially successful release. Declared platinum in 1990, it was also a critical success, cementing The Cult’s place in the pantheon of hard rock and heavy metal bands and earning them a devoted following that endures to this day.