Love And Rockets

Earth Sun Moon

Beggars Banquet

Released September 9, 1987

BBL 84

This product is not available in the EU store.

Earth, Sun Moon is the third studio album by Love And Rockets. Not a "normal" pop record by any means, it is more straight-ahead than their previous work and includes the upbeat single "No New Tale To Tell", a US college radio hit which set the stage for their popular breakthrough a year later.

PEOPLE MAGAZINE: "With both love affairs and rocket rides, opposite sensations mingle: Every exhilarating flight bears the threat of a burning crash. So it goes with Love and Rockets, a British trio with a special knack for writing rock songs that convey the delicate balance between life’s contradictions. Daniel Ash, David J and Kevin Haskins write seductive melodies reminiscent of the late Beatles or Pink Floyd, then add an ominous twist with furious drums or a yowling guitar. Similarly, their lyrics sway between anger at the futilities of life and wonder at its mysteries. Formed in 1984 from the ruins of the post-punk band Bauhaus, Love and Rockets released two serviceable albums before hitting its potential on this one. As they orbit each other musically, these three musicians present a balanced universe of dense, varied songs. A couple nearly drift off into run-of-the-mill psychedelia, but there are plenty of surprises. Even the breezy No New Tale to Tell holds a minor mind bender in its lyrics: “You cannot go against nature because when you do go against nature it’s part of nature too.” On Lazy, a bluesy love song, drummer Kevin Haskins employs what sounds like smashing glass. Destruction and romance intertwined: That’s Love and Rockets."
1. Mirror People
2. The Light
3. Welcome Tomorrow
4. No New Tale to Tell
5. Here on Earth
6. Lazy
7. Waiting for the Flood
8. Rain Bird
9. The Telephone Is Empty
10. Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven
11. Earth, Sun, Moon
12. Youth
13. Mirror People (Slow Version)