the arkive

  •  - Electric 2023 Reissue
  • A1. Wild Flower
    A2. Peace Dog
    A3. Lil’ Devil
    A4. Aphrodisiac Jacket
    A5. Electric Ocean
    A6. Bad Fun
    B1. King Contrary Man
    B2. Love Removal Machine
    B3. Born To Be Wild
    B4. Outlaw
    B5. Memphis Hip Shake

The Cult

Electric 2023 Reissue

Beggars Banquet
Released 17 November 2023

Beggars Arkive will release a vinyl reissue of THE CULT’S third album Electric on November 17th. Two editions will be available. Both are a single LP with a gatefold sleeve. Blue is exclusive to independent retail, black vinyl will be available everywhere. Electric joins the other Cult reissues we’ve released this year; Sonic Temple + Ceremony in August, the self-titled album in May, and Love in March. Both editions of Electric are available to order from us now.

THE CULT is fronted by Ian Astbury on vocals and Billy Duffy on guitar.

Electric, their third album, came out in 1987 and caused the band to explode to new levels of fame. It contains the massive hits “Love Removal Machine”, Wild Flower” and “Lil’ Devil” and was produced by Rick Rubin. A seminal work, the album features some of the band’s most iconic songs. It is a departure from the band’s previous work, with a raw, aggressive and stripped-down sound. The album’s opening track, “Wild Flower,” sets the tone with its pounding drums, blistering guitar riffs, and Ian Astbury’s powerful vocals.

Electric was a commercial and critical success, propelling The Cult to the forefront of the hard rock scene and cementing their status as one of the most influential bands of the era. The album remains a touchstone for hard rock and heavy metal fans, a classic work that captures the spirit of rebellion and the power of rock and roll.